Core Faculty

Pauline Barmby

Pauline Barmby

Professor and Undergraduate Chair

Research Interests / Specializations: Observational studies of star formation and stellar populations in nearby galaxies
PAB 204
(519) 661-2111 x81557
pbarmby@uwo.ca
Pauline Barmby's Biography
Shantanu Basu

Shantanu Basu

Professor

Research Interests / Specializations: Theoretical Astrophysics, Star Formation, Planet and Brown Dwarf Formation, Circumstellar Disk Evolution, Computational Gas Dynamics
PAB 258
(519) 661-2111 x86706
basu@uwo.ca
Shantanu Basu's Biography
Peter G. Brown

Peter G. Brown

Professor and Canada Research Chair

Research Interests / Specializations: Meteors and Comets
PAB 247
(519) 661-2111 x86458
pbrown@uwo.ca
Peter G. Brown's Biography
Alex Buchel

Alex Buchel

Professor (Joint Appt w/ Applied Math)

Research Interests / Specializations: Superstring Theory, Quantum Gravity, Black Hole Thermodynamics, Gauge Theory, Cosmology
PAB 259
(519) 661-2111 x88794
abuchel@uwo.ca
Alex Buchel's Biography
Jan Cami

Jan Cami

Professor

Research Interests / Specializations: Observational Astronomy
PAB 203
(519) 661-2111 x80978
jcami@uwo.ca
Jan Cami's Biography
Margaret Campbell-Brown

Margaret Campbell-Brown

Professor

Research Interests / Specializations: Meteor Physics
Blaine A. Chronik

Blaine A. Chronik

Professor

Research Interests / Specializations: Magnetic Resonance Systems Development, Medical physics, MRI
PAB 228
(519) 661-2111 x86455
bchronik@uwo.ca
Blaine A. Chronik's Biography
Colin Denniston

Colin Denniston

Professor (Joint Appt w/ Applied Math)

Research Interests / Specializations: Soft Condensed Matter Physics, Complex Fluids, Granular matter, Theory and simulation of micro and nano-fluidic devices
Middlesex College 266
(519) 661-2111 x88791
cdennist@uwo.ca
Colin Denniston's Biography
Giovanni Fanchini

Giovanni Fanchini

Associate Professor

Research Interests / Specializations: Carbon-based nanomaterials and Nano-optoelectronics
PAB 229
(519) 661-2111 x86238
gfanchin@uwo.ca
Giovanni Fanchini's Biography
Sarah Gallagher

Sarah Gallagher

Professor

Research Interests / Specializations: Active Galaxies and Black Holes
PAB 205
(519) 661-2111 x86707
sgalla4@uwo.ca
Sarah Gallagher's Biography
Lyudmila Goncharova

Lyudmila Goncharova

Associate Professor

Research Interests / Specializations: Condensed Matter, Surface Science, Ion Scattering
PAB 231
(519) 661-2111 x81558
lgonchar@uwo.ca
Lyudmila Goncharova's Biography
Wayne K. Hocking

Wayne K. Hocking

Professor

Research Interests / Specializations: Atmospheric Dynamics
PAB 304
(519) 661-2111 x83652
whocking@uwo.ca
Wayne K. Hocking's Biography
Martin Houde

Martin Houde

Professor

Research Interests / Specializations: Astrophysical Processes, Star Formation, Instrumentation
PAB 207
(519) 661-2111 x86711
mhoude2@uwo.ca
Martin Houde's Biography
Jeffrey L. Hutter

Jeffrey L. Hutter

Associate Professor and Associate Dean (Academic - Science Programs) - Faculty of Science

Research Interests / Specializations: Solidification, Soft Materials, Atomic Force Microscopy
PAB 209
(519) 661-2111 x86719
jhutter@uwo.ca
Jeffrey L. Hutter's Biography
Carol E. Jones

Carol E. Jones

Professor and Associate Dean (Faculty/Staff/Infrastructure) - Faculty of Science

Research Interests / Specializations: Circumstellar Disk-like Distributions of Material, Computational Astrophysics, Emission-line stars, Be stars
PAB 202
(519) 661-2111 x86709
cejones@uwo.ca
Carol E. Jones's Biography
Stan Metchev

Stan Metchev

Associate Professor and Canada Research Chair

Research Interests / Specializations: Extrasolar planets, Brown dwarfs
PAB 201
(519) 661 2111 x 88438
smetchev@uwo.ca
Stan Metchev's Biography
Silvia Mittler

Silvia Mittler

Professor

Research Interests / Specializations: Photonics of Surfaces and Interfaces: biomedical interface microscopy and sensors
PAB 208
(519) 661-2111 x88592
smittler@uwo.ca
Silvia Mittler's Biography
Alexei Ouriadov

Alexei Ouriadov

Assistant Professor

Research Interests / Specializations: MRI Systems Development
PAB 114
(519) 661-2111 x81402
aouriado@uwo.ca
Alexei Ouriadov's Biography
Els Peeters

Els Peeters

Professor

Research Interests / Specializations: Interstellar medium, Circumstellar medium, Star formation.
PAB 206
(519) 661-2111 x80973
epeeters@uwo.ca
Els Peeters's Biography
Tamie L. Poepping

Tamie L. Poepping

Associate Professor

Research Interests / Specializations: Medical Physics - Ultrasound flow measurements, Particle image velocimetry, Computational modelling of flow, vascular mechanics, and vascular networks
PAB 236
(519) 661-2111 x86431
poepping@uwo.ca
Tamie L. Poepping's Biography
Robert J. Sica

Robert J. Sica

Professor and Department Chair

Research Interests / Specializations: I use a high power laser and 2.5 m telescope (a lidar) to measure dynamics of Earth's atmosphere from the surface to the edge of space
PAB 256
(519) 661-2111 x83521
pachair@uwo.ca
Robert J. Sica's Biography
Aaron Sigut

Aaron Sigut

Associate Professor and Graduate Chair

Research Interests / Specializations: Circumstellar disks, radiative transfer, stellar atmospheres, computational astrophysics
PAB 235
(519) 661-2111 x86718
asigut@uwo.ca
Aaron Sigut's Biography
Mahi R. Singh

Mahi R. Singh

Professor

Research Interests / Specializations: The study of plasmonics, nanooptics, nanoelectronics, polaritonics and many body theory in nanomaterials and nanotechnology
PAB 116
(519) 661-2111 x86427
msingh@uwo.ca
Mahi R. Singh's Biography
Andrea Soddu

Andrea Soddu

Associate Professor

Research Interests / Specializations: Medical Physics, Neuroscience
PAB 122
(519) 661-2111 x82669
asoddu@uwo.ca
Andrea Soddu's Biography
Olga Trichtchenko

Olga Trichtchenko

Assistant Professor

Research Interests / Specializations: Water waves, nonlinear phenomena, computational fluid dynamics, stability theory
PAB 112
(519) 661-2111 x88697
otrichtc@uwo.ca
Olga Trichtchenko's Biography
Paul Wiegert

Paul Wiegert

Professor

Research Interests / Specializations: Asteroids, Comets and Planetary Dynamics
PAB 238
(519) 661-2111 x81327
pwiegert@uwo.ca
Paul Wiegert's Biography
Eugene Wong

Eugene Wong

Professor

Research Interests / Specializations: Medical Physics
PAB 233
(519) 661-2111 x80419
ewong4@uwo.ca
Eugene Wong's Biography
Martin Zinke-Allmang

Martin Zinke-Allmang

Professor

Teaching: Undergraduate Teaching
PAB 120
(519) 661-2111 x89166
mzinke@uwo.ca
Martin Zinke-Allmang's Biography