Graduate Scholarships & Awards

The following scholarships and awards are available to students in Physics and Astronomy graduate programs:

The William H. Wehlau Award in Astronomy:

Awarded to a qualified student to pursue graduate studies in Astronomy at The University of Western Ontario. The award is based on a variety of criteria, and no minimum academic mark is required. The recipient will be chosen by a committee of the Department of Astronomy. This award is established in memory of Professor William. H. Wehlau, Head of the Department of Astronomy from 1966 to 1991.
Value: $2300

Lillian Margaret & Walter David Jackson Scholarship in Physics:

Awarded annually to a meritorious graduate student in the Department of Physics with preference given to incoming graduate students. The selection will be made by the Department of Physics. This scholarship was established with Foundation Western by Prof. John David Jackson (BSC '46, DSC '89) in memory of his parents, Lillian Margaret and Walter David Jackson, to reward the academic excellence of students entering the graduate program in the Department of Physics.
Value: $4,500

Tri-Agency Scholarships:

The Lumsden Fellowships & Awards in Science

These fellowships and awards were made possible by a bequest to Foundation Western by the late Ruth V. Lumsden (BA '79) and Robert O. Lumsden (BA '78). Both are valued at $1500.

Lumsden Fellowship: Awarded annually to graduate students in any program in the Faculty of Science. Eligibility is based on academic excellence and performance in graduate research. The weighting criteria in these areas will be the same as that used in applying for a PGS-D Fellowship and the same dossier used for that process must be submitted for consideration for one of these fellowships. Departments may also consider nominating exceptional international students for a fellowship and in such a case the same type of dossier would need to be prepared. Nominees must be registered in a Ph.D. program and must have completed at least two years of study in any graduate program at Western. 

Lumsden Award: Three graduate awards based on financial need and academic achievement made possible through a bequest from the late Ruth V. Lumsden and Robert O. Lumsden. Western Science PhD students who have completed at least two years of study in any graduate program at Western with average course marks at or above 78%, are Canadian citizens or Permanent Residents, and have resided in the Province of Ontario for at least two years are eligible for consideration. Nominees for this award may not hold a major scholarship or award such as NSERC or OGS, and should be receiving only the minimum total stipend guaranteed by their home department. Selection criteria and weighting are academic and research excellence (50%) and financial need (50%). Applications should include a curriculum vitae, Western transcript, one-page statement of research accomplishments and plans, statement of financial need (using the OSOTF form) and a nomination letter from the student’s supervisor.

Published on  and maintained in Cascade CMS.